Staff

 

Susan Wadsworth, Director
susan@yca.org

Mark Hayman, Associate Director
mark@yca.org
Sarah Graham, Director of Development
sarah@yca.org
Monica J. Felkel, Director of Artist Management
monica@yca.org
Vicki Margulies, Artist Manager
vicki@yca.org
Rong-Hong (Ron) Ma, Far East Representative, Financial Associate
ron@yca.org
Brian D. Bumby, Operations Manager
brian@yca.org
Jennifer DeCinque, Program Manager
jennifer@yca.org
Erol Gurol, Management Associate
erol@yca.org
Jamiesyn Aliano, Publicity Manager
jamiesyn@yca.org
Natalie Pascarella Raichilson, Development Associate
natalie@yca.org
Emily Whildin, Development Assistant
emily@yca.org
Tim McCarthy, Information Systems Manager
tim@yca.org

Susan Wadsworth

Susan Wadsworth is the Director of Young Concert Artists, Inc., the unique non‑profit organization which she founded in 1961, dedicated to discovering and launching the careers of gifted musicians from all over the world.  From the first Young Concert Artists Series in a Greenwich Village loft in 1961-1962, this annual Series is renowned for presenting the first appearances of many of today’s illustrious artists including the pianists Murray Perahia, Emanuel Ax, Jean-Yves Thibaudet and Richard Goode, the Tokyo, St. Lawrence, and Borromeo Quartets, the violinists Pinchas Zukerman, Chee-Yun and Ani Kavafian, cellists Carter Brey and Fred Sherry, and sopranos Dawn Upshaw and Sasha Cooke.

The Young Concert Artists Series is now presented at Merkin Concert Hall and at the Kennedy Center in Washington, DC, with special events at Carnegie’s Zankel Hall and at Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Rose Theater.

Mrs. Wadsworth’s organization, now in its 54th season, is the gold standard for identifying and assisting young musicians of exceptional talent.   Founded as the first non-profit management in the world, it provides individual career guidance and performance opportunities to YCA artists chosen through the annual Young Concert Artists International Auditions.

In 2005, Mrs. Wadsworth accepted the Angel Award presented to Young Concert Artists by the International Society of Performing Arts Administrators.

In 1993, at the request of Isaac Stern, Susan Wadsworth presented a concert by YCA artists at the White House for President and Mrs. Clinton, for an evening in honor of the recipients of the National Medal of Arts.

Mrs. Wadsworth has received Honorary Doctorates from the Mannes College of Music, the Manhattan School of Music, and the New England Conservatory, and received the Frances Riker Davis Alumnae Award of The Brearley School. In 1999 she was honored as a Chevalier de L’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres by the Republic of France.  Mrs. Wadsworth is an Honorary Board Member of Young Classical Artists Trust in London, England, which she helped to found.

Mrs. Wadsworth frequently serves on music competition Juries, including the Mieczyslaw Munz Piano Scholarship Competition, the New Jersey Symphony Young Artists Competition, and the Murray Dranoff Two Piano Competition, and concerto competitions at the Peabody Conservatory of Music, the Manhattan School of Music, and the Yale School of Music.

Mrs. Wadsworth authored a chapter in Volume II of The Musical Woman, an anthology published by Greenwood Press in 1985.

She has served as a consultant to the New York State Council on the Arts and the National Endowment for the Arts, and is a member of the National Advisory Committees of the Avery Fisher Prize Program, the Van Cliburn Competition, the Vendôme Prize Piano Competition, and Young Audiences, Inc.

Susan Wadsworth was born in New York City. She studied piano with the distinguished Polish pianist and teacher Mieczyslaw Munz.  She earned a BA in English from Vassar College, where she studied piano and violin and was a member of the Vassar Orchestra, the Ballet Club and the Vassar Chorus.  Mrs. Wadsworth attended the Fontainebleau Conservatory in France, studying with Jean Casadesus and Nadia Boulanger, and the Mannes College of Music.  Mrs. Wadsworth is married to the pianist Charles Wadsworth.