Staff

 

Susan Wadsworth, Director
susan@yca.org

Mark Hayman, Associate Director
mark@yca.org
Sarah Graham, Director of Development
sarah@yca.org
Monica J. Felkel, Director of Artist Management
monica@yca.org
Vicki Margulies, Artist Manager
vicki@yca.org
Rong-Hong (Ron) Ma, Far East Representative, Financial Associate
ron@yca.org
Brian D. Bumby, Operations Manager
brian@yca.org
Jennifer DeCinque, Program Manager
jennifer@yca.org
Erol Gurol, Management Associate
erol@yca.org
Emily Whildin, Development Assistant
emily@yca.org
Natalie Pascarella, Development Associate
natalie@yca.org
Tim McCarthy, Information Systems Manager
tim@yca.org
Justin LaDeau, Auditions/Media Assistant
justin@yca.org
for publicity, please contact
publicity@yca.org

Susan Wadsworth

Susan Wadsworth is the Director of Young Concert Artists, Inc., the unique non‑profit organization which she founded in 1961, dedicated to discovering and launching the careers of gifted musicians from all over the world. From the first Young Concert Artists Series in a Greenwich Village loft in 1961, this annual Series in New York is renowned for presenting the first New York concerts of many of today’s illustrious artists including the pianists Murray Perahia, Emanuel Ax, Jean-Yves Thibaudet and Richard Goode, the Tokyo, St. Lawrence, Mendelssohn and Borromeo Quartets, the violinists Pinchas Zukerman, Chee-Yun and Ani Kavafian, cellists Carter Brey and Fred Sherry, and the soprano Dawn Upshaw.

The Young Concert Artists Series is presented at Carnegie’s Zankel Hall and Merkin Concert Hall with special events and at the Rose Theater at Jazz at Lincoln Center, and at the Kennedy Center in Washington, DC.

Mrs. Wadsworth’s organization, now in its 54th season, has set the standard for assistance to young musicians, developing the first non-profit management in the world, which provides individual guidance, management services and performance opportunities to YCA artists chosen through the annual Young Concert Artists International Auditions.

In 2005, Mrs. Wadsworth accepted the Angel Award presented to Young Concert Artists by the International Society of Performing Arts Administrators.

In 1993, at the request of Isaac Stern, Susan Wadsworth presented a concert by YCA artists at the White House for President and Mrs. Clinton, for the evening in honor of the recipients of the National Medal of Arts.

Mrs. Wadsworth has received Honorary Doctorates from the Mannes College of Music, the Manhattan School of Music, and the New England Conservatory, and received the Frances Riker Davis Alumnae Award of The Brearley School. In 1999 she was honored as a Chevalier de L’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres by the Republic of France. Mrs. Wadsworth is an Honorary Board Member of Young Concert Artists Trust in London, England, which she helped to found.

Mrs. Wadsworth has served on numerous music competition Juries, including the Mieczyslaw Munz Piano Scholarship Competition, the New Jersey Symphony Young Artists Competition, and the Murray Dranoff Two Piano Competition, and concerto competitions at the Peabody Conservatory of Music, the Manhattan School of Music, and the Yale School of Music.

Mrs. Wadsworth authored a chapter in Volume II of The Musical Woman, an anthology published by Greenwood Press in 1985.

She has served as a consultant to the New York State Council on the Arts and the National Endowment for the Arts, and is a member of the National Advisory Committees of the Avery Fisher Prize Program, the Van Cliburn Competition, the Vendôme Prize Piano Competition, and Young Audiences, Inc.

Susan Wadsworth was born in New York City. She studied piano with the distinguished Polish pianist and teacher Mieczyslaw Munz. She earned a BA in English from Vassar College, where she studied piano and violin and was a member of the Vassar Orchestra, the Ballet Club and the Vassar Chorus. Mrs. Wadsworth attended the Fontainebleau Conservatory in France, studying with Jean Casadesus and Nadia Boulanger, and also studied at the Mannes College of Music. Mrs. Wadsworth is married to the pianist Charles Wadsworth.